The European Council recommended that its 27 member states reimpose travel restrictions on US tourists due to the rising number of coronavirus infections being reported in America.

Iran Press/Europe: "Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, the Republic of North Macedonia, and the United States of America were removed from the list," a statement said on Monday.

The move is not binding on national capitals, which may yet choose to allow fully vaccinated US travelers to visit, despite concerns about rising numbers of COVID cases in the States.

But most EU members have followed Brussels' travel advice during the crisis so far.

Non-essential travel into the bloc from outside the EU and eight associated countries -- Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican -- has been restricted.

The United States, which leads the world in the most deaths and cases, has reported 39.9 million infections and over 656,000 deaths since the pandemic began last year.


Read more:

US COVID-19 hospitalizations hit record eight-month high

Delta variant becomes main strain in Indiana as US COVID cases rise