Pakistani Parliament elects opposition lawmaker Shahbaz Sharif as new prime minister after a walkout by Imran Khan's party.

Iran PressAsia: PML-N leader Shehbaz Shariff was elected as the new Pakistan Prime Minister through voting in Pakistan National Assembly.

Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) boycotted the procedure ahead of the voting.

PTI PM candidate Shah Mahmood Qureshi announced the boycott of voting to elect a new Pakistan premier. The PTI lawmakers resigned from the Parliament and staged a walkout.

The joint Opposition – a rainbow of socialist, liberal, and radically religious parties – named 70-year-old Sharif for the premier's post, while ex-foreign minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi was named by Khan's PTI as its candidate.

The PTI has decided to withdraw its lawmakers from the National Assembly and launch a movement against the new upcoming government, likely headed by Sharif, who has served as the Chief Minister of Punjab three times.

Shehbaz Sharif is the younger brother of Nawaz Sharif, who was prime minister three times before. His victory was secured when members of the opposition party of ousted prime minister Imran Khan resigned.

Pakistan's Prime Minister Imran Khan has been ousted from power after losing a no-confidence vote on his leadership on Saturday.

The vote was held past midnight after opposition parties brought a motion against him, following days of drama.

Who is Shehbaz Sharif?

Shehbaz Sharif's brother Nawaz was banned from holding public office in 2017 by Pakistan's Supreme Court. After serving only a few months of a 10-year jail sentence on corruption charges, he subsequently left the country for medical treatment.

Pakistan's National Accountability Bureau seized almost two dozen properties from Shehbaz Sharif and his son Hamza, accusing them of money laundering, in 2019.

In September 2020, he was arrested and held for six months but released on bail while awaiting trial, which is still pending.


Read More:

Two famous politicians nominate for Prime Minister of Pakistan